Originally formed on 21 May 1987, Badminton Oceania (BOC) continues to celebrate growth across the region. From the original founding members (Roy Ward, Heather Robson, Ian Palmer, Dr Jeffrey Robson and Cedric Baxter), to employing the first paid member of staff in 1998, BOC now boasts a team of 10 in 2021, spread between New Zealand, Australia, Papua New Guinea and Fiji and a current total of 17 Member Associations – all mapped out in an evolutionary timeline which celebrates key achievements for badminton and the organisation since 1900.

The document recognises several other historical moments with have influenced badminton in Oceania, including the Whyte Trophy, Committees, Olympic and Commonwealth representation, technical officials, BWF sanctioned tournaments (dating as far back as 1989) and much more.

Click on the link below to read the online version or click on the PDF icon to download the History Document.

Last updated March 2022